First shopping trip.

So today I went grocery shopping for keto-friendly foods. Here’s the list of what I got (I stocked up on certain things since they were on sale and could be frozen, but I’m not listing quantities):

  • Cream cheese
  • Cheddar
  • Chicken (“picnic pack”; no breast, just thighs and drums)
  • Boneless chuck roast (I love beef stew and will be planning to make a keto-friendly version. My family usually has beef stew with rice, but I’m going to try the riced cauliflower)
  • Top sirloin steak
  • Button mushrooms
  • Celery
  • Carrots (don’t think these are keto, but I was going to throw them in the stew for flavor, though if I can’t do that either, it’s totally fine without it)
  • Beef broth (for the stew and some extra in case I experience keto flu)
  • Pork rinds for breading
  • Ham
  • Heavy cream
  • Sour cream
  • Eggs
  • Bacon
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Salad dressing
  • Tofu
  • Ground pork
  • Scallions
  • Dry grated parmesan (not the fresh stuff)
  • Silk almond milk (I actually got two of the little juice boxes in two different flavors to see how I would like it before I bought a big container; I bought dark chocolate and vanilla)

I think that’s pretty much it. I meant to pick up more leafy greens, like spinach. I would’ve had that as a side for a meal or made some soup out of it. And I meant to buy wings. WINGS. I’ve been craving buffalo wings and I’m happy that they’re keto! And of course, I don’t mean the sweet sauce or breaded kinds (big no no). I love hot wings and garlic parmesan. By the way, this is the recipe I want to try for garlic parmesan. You’ll see that he throws in a bit of bread crumbs, but I’ll replace that with ground up pork rinds.

Now I have a reason to break out my cast iron pan and season it (steaks!). I didn’t eat much red meat till I moved in with my boyfriend (who loves steak). It’s not that I don’t like it — I love steak, too — but in my family, we just ate more poultry because red meat was supposedly worse for your health. I still keep seeing both arguments, so I’m not sure who’s right. I eat it anyway because I like it. Anyway, we usually eat steak when we go out to eat, so I’ve never cooked it at home. I bought the pan with the intention of cooking them at home since it’s so costly to eat out, but never got around to it.

So I picked these ingredients for certain dishes that were keto-friendly that I love. I already mentioned the beef stew, but I also want to make mapo tofu and chicken cordon bleu. I love chicken cordon bleu and I came across this keto chicken cordon bleu recipe in this reddit thread the other day. I really want to try it.

One of the things that I’m going to miss the most when I go on keto is the rice and noodles. As an Asian, these are staples in my diet. They’re unavoidable at family get togethers (I guess this might be one of the good things about me living so far away from my family right now. I’ve been hating it for the last two years, but I guess this would be one of the benefits). It can’t be that bad for you… I don’t obesity is as big an issue there as it is in the US — plus the last I heard, Japan holds the record for most centenarians (people living over 100 years). I think Asian cuisines are generally healthier, too. When I reach my goal weight, I plan to transition out of keto and reintroduce these foods in small amounts to see what’s a good point for me before I start to put on any weight. I can give up rice and noodles temporarily, but I can’t do it for the rest of my life. Chinese food is just too good. Or just Asian food in general. I’m going to miss sushi. I know there’s sashimi, but I really enjoy sushi. Hopefully the weight will come off quick!

I’m not sure if I should put off starting keto for a little bit, like a week or so. I still have some non-keto-friendly foods that I would like to use up rather than throw away, like cereal, half-and-half (I’ve read that some people use it on keto, but I’m a little iffy about it), and milk. I’ve got a huge container full of rice and smaller bags (like sushi rice)… *sniff*… but I know those will stay unspoiled for a long while, so I will just save them for when I get off keto. Same goes for some packages of ramen I have. Actually, I could probably use the rice for my boyfriend (he doesn’t eat ramen). I’d like to use up my perishables, though, as it’s a waste of money to dump them or let them go bad.

Still thinking about this.

Leave a Reply

